Most World Cup Wins in Cricket


The ICC Cricket World Cup has seen 20 different teams participate in the race to be at the top of the World Cup Winners List in 11 editions from 1975 to 2015. The tournament has seen five different winners along the years.

The first three editions were hosted by England. West Indies won the first two of them, which are their only title wins. The third World Cup went to India. This win made waves in India and the cricket fraternity in the nation grew exponentially. Hence, the 1987 World Cup was co-hosted by India, along with Pakistan.

The 1987 World Cup saw the first title win of the most dominant team in World Cups, Australia. After winning in 1987, the Australian team won it in 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015, making it to five titles.

No other team has won 3 or more titles so far. The other teams to win twice are West Indies (1975 and 1979) and India (1983 and  2011). The other two World Cups were won by Pakistan in 1992 and Sri Lanka in 1996.

West Indies won the World Cup in two successive editions, but Australia became the only team to hold the trophy in three consecutive tournaments of 2003, 2007 and 2011.

The notable teams to miss out from a title win are England, New Zealand and South Africa, who despite having strong teams in a few of these tournaments could not go all the way to the trophy.

Here is a table of the teams with their World Cup titles:

No. Of Wins Winner Year
5 Australia 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015
2 India 1983, 2011
2 West Indies 1975, 1979
1 Pakistan 1992
1 Sri Lanka 1996


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *